Presenting at Richmond Code Camp 2011.2

I am honored and excited to have been chosen to present at the upcoming Richmond Code Camp on Saturday, October 8, 2011. My presentation is titled “PowerShell: A Tale of Two Checklists” and is scheduled for just after lunch. This will be my first time presenting at a Code Camp and my first time presenting on PowerShell!  The examples in my presentation are geared towards using PowerShell with Server Management Objects (SMO) to automate SQL Server configurations, however many of the concepts and lessons apply to any use of PowerShell for automation. I have included the session abstract below.

PowerShell: A Tale of Two Checklists

It was the worst of times.  It was the age of foolishness.  I had a long-winded, manual, GUI-intensive checklist for configuring new SQL Server installations.  Automating that checklist with PowerShell and SMO ushered in the best of times and an age of wisdom.  In this session, we will walk through my new automated checklist, make the case for using PowerShell for such tasks, and point those still mired in the winter of despair and manual drudgery towards the spring of hope that is scripting and automation.

If you are in the Mid-Atlantic area and are looking for an excellent learning and networking opportunity, you cannot do any better than the Richmond Code Camp. The folks that run this event have been doing it twice a year for a number of years and it is very well run, free of charge, and there are usually quite a few giveaways at the end of the day. Register here and I hope to see you there!

2 Responses to Presenting at Richmond Code Camp 2011.2

  1. This is awesome. I wish you good luck.

Leave a comment