“Integration Services in the Real World” Slide Deck

I want to extend a HUGE “thank you” to everyone who attended my presentation at this weekend’s SQLSaturday #30 in Richmond.  I think I was lucky to be the only one talking about SSIS as the room was packed.  I really appreciated everyone’s attention and participation.  I only noticed one guy in the front fall asleep and I saw the same guy fall asleep in another session later in the day so not bad at all!

To those who stopped on the way out or came up to me later in the day to mention that they enjoyed the presentation, I really cannot say how much that meant to me.  This was my first time stepping out of my comfort zone and giving a presentation.  If one person had said something nice about my presentation, that would have meant the world to me.  The fact that maybe 10 or 15 did was absolutely incredible.  Even the guy who fell asleep gave me a “thumbs up” on the way out.  Maybe he was just looking for someone with a soothing voice and mine sufficed.

I would also like to thank Tim Mitchell (blog | twitter).  At one point, Tim and I were both presenting SSIS topics.  I felt a bit nervous to share the SSIS bill with Tim as he is quite an experienced and polished presenter.  I reached out to Tim both as an opportunity to pick his brain for advice and as an opportunity to network with someone before the conference since I did not expect to know too many folks ahead of time.  Tim was gracious enough to schedule a call with me and spend the better part of an hour answering my questions, giving me pointers, and reassuring me that I was on the right track.  I was disappointed that he was not able to come to the rescheduled event, but look forward to meeting him sometime in the future when our paths cross.  Thanks Tim!

Finally, I would also like to thank Jessica Moss (blog | twitter), one of the conference organizers.  Jessica spent some time talking with me when I ran into her at SharePoint Saturday here in Virginia Beach back in January.  At the time, I was a bit nervous regarding my approach for my presentation.  Jessica was very encouraging.  She reassured me that my plans for the session fit what they were looking for at the conference and that my abstract did a decent job of conveying those plans.  Knowing that a conference organizer and experienced speaker knew exactly what I was planning and was happy with it really boosted my confidence.  Thanks Jessica!

My slide deck is attached to this post.  During the presentation, a request was made for me to make one of my projects available for download.  Not considering this ahead of time was probably the biggest rookie mistake that I made.  I am still considering whether I am going to be able to do this.  I am torn at the moment because the project in question was not strictly a demo in the sense that it did nothing but explain a concept or illustrate a method.  It was a finished product.  It was something my employer paid for me to develop and deliver.  I am going to give this some more thought and will follow-up in another post.

Update:  Here is the link to the deck:  Integration Services in the Real World

7 Responses to “Integration Services in the Real World” Slide Deck

  1. Patrick says:

    I’d be interested in see in the slide deck – but I’m not seeing it on the post?

  2. nullgarity says:

    Thanks for pointing that out. You should see it there now.

  3. John says:

    I thought your perspective on SSIS was well thought out. Your analogy of SSIS not being just a hammer but a toolbox was thoughtful. Hopefully that viewpoint influenced some people. I liked the index reorganization/rebuild although on second thought our environment is better suited to a different approach.

    • NULLgarity says:

      Thanks John – I am glad you enjoyed the session. Curious…. what other approach are you thinking of regarding index maintenance? Do you already have something in place?

  4. The demo you did was a finished product, but it was not specific to their business. I have 2/3rds of it already written in TSQL 🙂

    Perhaps you could blog about how you used the dmv’s to improve your reindexing without the SSIS? Or if you are like me, you redevelop it on your own at night (making it better in the process because you are starting fresh, but not stealing any of your code.)

    I might even just ask my boss if you could share… They didn’t have a problem with you sharing what you did, so sharing non-business related code might be acceptable (clearly with nothing to relate it to them). Frankly, what you are likely to get is a better product if people use it, find things that could be improved (or even wrong) and you get those ideas (and possibly code) back for free.

    Bottom line, really liked your presentation, would have loved it if I could touch any of the demos you gave and see what you had done because SSIS is a deep product that has a lot of settings/possibilities that I am not an expert as (in fact, I would let someone else do it if in fact someone else was available to me 🙂

  5. Ramdas says:

    Hi Brian,
    Nice presentation material, in one your slides you have said to use indirect configurations in SSIS. Does this refer to XML/Server based configuration or something else.

Leave a Reply

